The Chi FAQ v1.4

the-chi-faq-14

New version. A lot of new info is in this version. It’s now what, 65 pages long?

Anyways there’s still a ton of stuff that needs to go in. I’ve just been very lazy about updating it. And… oh bother. I just noticed one of the sections near the end isn’t finished yet. Sigh… Well, I haven’t given up on it yet :)

Some of the updates include new information from the Huangdi Neijing and the Illustrated Canon, as well as a number of new scientific papers (such as references to the work of Langevin and Yandow). I have two editions of the Huangdi Neijing now, and will be inputting more terms and definitions from that for 1.4.1 or 1.5.

As always, the more submissions I get or the more questions I am asked, the better I can make this. I actively seek out help and submissions, this is not something one person can accomplish. I need your help.

At any rate, thanks for the submissions and comments I’ve gotten so far. To download the FAQ, click the above link or visit the FAQ section from the homepage.

Special note: If you, as a chi kung practitioner or martial artist, disagree with any conclusion reached in the faq, please, please send me an email about it. I am completely open-minded. I just need some authoritative reference so that the work is scholarly and connected with the classics. Thank you.

One Response

  1. Renli, I think the section relating qi to prana is interesting. I believe qi and qigong were influenced by prana and yoga but it seems unclear how. Some other things along this line I wonder about are – what is the relationship of the chakra that corresponds roughly to the dantian and the dantian? What is the difference between qi, prana, and kundalini? How does yoga develop prana and kundalini? How is that similar or different to/from qigong? Perhaps those questions are out of scope but I find them particularly interesting. I don’t know of any scholarly sources that explain them.

    Renli responds: Thanks for the comment! Actually, that section is at the top of my list, and as soon as any new information comes along I’ll add it. I’m also still looking things up – there’s quite a bit of information out there, although as I said in the FAQ it’s very difficult to sort through. So you or anyone comes up with something – please, do send me a message so I can put it in the FAQ.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

