Seven Things about Me

Uh oh. I knew this would happen eventually. Chessman of FormosaNeijia has tagged me with one of those ridiculous memes. Well at least he tagged me first, before my arch-rival Tim Fong. Life is good 🙂

There are a few people I’d like to counter-tag. One is the guy at Dynamic Balancing Tai Chi, just because I know he won’t do it 😉

Second would be good ‘ol Scott because I think he has an interesting, narrow-but-deep view of things CMA.

Finally, we might as well tag Joanna Zorya, because she refuses to be cubbyholed (still deciding if that’s a good or bad thing :)) and socializing with her in this way is perhaps our last option. Since the link above isn’t a blog, let me link Reeling Silk, her student’s blog, as she posts there quite often.

After those three I’ll wait to see if Tim Fong says anything 🙂

Okay, here we go.

1. I have studied Tai Chi for Twenty Years
I’ve studied Taoist Tai Chi for close to 5 years, Yang Style for another 5, and most recently Chen style for around 5 years. Along the way I’ve easily taken 5 year’s worth of “breaks” 😉

2. I’m a Christian.
I thought about editing this to #1 but that’s just paranoia. One of the greatest uncertanities I have as a Christian is reconciling if God can hear our prayers or not. From what I know of theology (and this is hardcore theology not your average sunday school “french pastry” theology) God may actually be currently “unwilling” shall we say, to hear our prayers.

3. I am a 4 dan in Wei-Qi, known in Japanese as “I-Go”.
I have taught Go in chinese school in Canada. As a white guy that’s saying something. I don’t play much Go anymore. I’ve been busy. At my level seriously studying Go tends to take over everything else. I’ve decided I’d rather study Tai Chi. THAT being said, I’ve decided to study Chinese in the mean time.

4. I’m studying Chinese.
I’m one of those perpetual 500 chinese word guys. But I have plans to improve 😉 I’m writing a MCI Chinese Textbook. If I succeed it will be the only one of it’s kind in the world.

5. I’m an amateur software developer.
Lone wolf – I wouldn’t have it any other way. I wrote LinCycles which is still being distributed via SlackWare if my sources are right. I also wrote NetWhack, which exceeded my expectations and includes a full VT100 simulator in Java. I have written various other programs and systems including a dating website, software for the University of Toronto and a few different Engineering Companies, oh and an I-Ching program. Lost the sources for that one. Pity, it was really cool. I’m currently working on Kongzi. Watch for it. It’s going to be good.

6. I’m in a continuous state of culture shock.
Or maybe not. I’m not sure. What’s culture shock? It’s got to have hit me by now, i’ve been here for 2 years. Living in China is the best thing that ever happened to me. But is it just a cover-up for mistakes I’ve made in my past? It’s best not to think of it, I suppose. China is what it is. Yay me.

7. Recently had a cute little baby boy. Dear lord what a life-shifting event.
I think I’m still adjusting. Everything is just moving way too fast and did I mention I have five projects ranging from tai chi to go to programming to reading the latest harry potter? Oh and is he ever cute. Maybe it’s just because he’s a mixed baby, dunno, but whenever we go shopping, crowds gather. He really does look handsome, and believe me I have seen some pretty sick looking babies on baby food bottles and what not. He looks like he could be on a magazine cover and I’m not even joking. No pictures, please 😉

8. I’m an amateur investor.
Have been for several years. I saved my father thousands of dollars on a foolish stock play he made once – didn’t tell him, took a 2 week holiday in Asia – gave him a lot of money back – everyone was happy. Those were the days. Nowadays I’m angry because I need to go to the dentist, buy baby stuff, pay off my student loan.. Sigh, if only I could fast forward a couple years to when I was super rich 😉 everything would be much better.

Check out GSS and CDE. Check the fundamentals, read the write ups. I’m not an investor so I won’t tell you if I think you should buy or short those two stocks – you will figure that out for yourself. But there’s something going down here. Be advised. These two are huge plays on gold and silver. But like I said don’t take my word for it. Do your own research. This one’s for my readers only, I have never and likely never will ever again write about stocks (except once, on r.m-a).

Oh I’m sorry, that’s eight things.

I would have liked to talk about my musical interests as well – I have produced my own CD on mp3.com although I believe I’ve closed that account by now, so you won’t be able to download or buy my CD (I had nine sales in the 3 months it was up.) I’m currently learning the Recorder. It’s a fascinating instrument.

Good luck and thanks for asking.

One Response

  1. I was raised with zero church; modern *shrug* agnostic.

    Was baptized a Christian in the Philippines (I’m a California boy BTW) 12 years ago. One of the best moves I ever made.

    My brother’s wife (she’s Filipino-Texan) put it simply and strongly a few years back: “Prayer works!”

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

