Kongzi Beta News

So much work has gone into Kongzi Beta-3 I almost want to call it Beta-4. But I’ve decided to hold off just a little while longer until the Memory Game is done. Yeah, Memory Game. I don’t know a single program which has that capability – Kongzi might be the first. Check out the new Mix ‘n Match Quiz type i’ve designed. It’s similar to one of Stackz’ features:

Kongzi Beta-3 Quiz MenuKongzi Beta-3 Mix ‘n Match Quiz

Pretty cool huh? Yeah I thought so too. It’s drawn attention to the fact that I need to let the user configure his own fonts; especially because CERG Chinese/Bitstream Cyberbit don’t appear to support Japanese characters; that’s inexcusable for a program purporting to support any language natively. So that will be added in Beta-4, and Beta-4 will begin right after I finish the memory game (which is about 25% done).

Kongzi Beta-3 Flashcard Quiz

I’ve also done a lot of work on the new “Flashcard Quiz” system – which is very similar to how Stackz or Anki does quizzing. It starts by presenting a character, and you can select if you either know it or not. Or you can press space to reveal more information like phonetic or definition. I’ve allowed you to use the mouse or keyboard here – left click = known, right click = unknown. Middle button reveal information. It’s fun and fast for breaking in a new dictionary; props to Louise Brenner for convincing me to do this. I still have to take another look at Anki though. Although it’s rather limited in some ways and crashes a lot, it looks amazing and seems very user friendly – far more so than even Stackz, which is a commercial program. That being said once I got to learn Stackz it was just as fun and fast as Anki or any other program.

Also in Beta-4 I’m thinking of adding internationalization support. This would be important because the program can also be used to study English using the reverse quiz option:

Kongzi Beta-3 Configure Quiz 2

Reverse quiz is explained fully in the user manual (I haven’t uploaded the latest version yet, however). For the uninitiated, it means that if the quiz is, say, a definition based quiz, instead of the (hanzi or hiragana or whatever) appearing as the question, it will appear as the answer; and the definition will be used as the question. How cool is that?

This will allow me to beta test the program in some of the local cram schools. This feels like it could be very powerful for me; where I work there are some computers and the kids are encouraged to play English “learning” games on them like spelling games, whatever. Hell I might even get my first sales locally (I was imagining getting them on the internet). So yeah localization support is inevitable in Beta-4, I would think.

But when am I gonna let you guys taste the rainbow? I honestly don’t know. I don’t want to release a product with sucks because I’m going to be charging money for this, and first impressions count alot in this market. It’s definately almost ready though. It’s fun to use! And I feel much more secure releasing it now that I’ve removed all that netbeans actionmap garbage – it shrinks, obfuscates and optimizes quite nicely now.

I am considering making some UI changes too, like making the dialogs internal to a frame and maximizing the frame. The UI seems a little weird in that the main window never changes. Why is it there? To hold a jmenu? Hmm, a little redesign might go a long way in that department. Windows users aren’t used to this style; I think they would expect a full-screen application like msword or something, even if it didn’t have a lot of features. Maybe I will redesign it graphically similar to glGo or CGoban 2/3. Those kind of graphic menus are interesting and can look very professional.

Ehh well i’ll keep posting updates – and please do contact me if you want to beta test this software. These kongzi pages get a lot of hits (many times what my old tai chi blog would get) but far fewer comments (than the tai chi blog). I guess that’s the nature of this market.

Leave a Reply

