Kongzi in Korean?

Kongzi Beta-4 Screenshot

Kongzi is, of course, designed to deal natively with all languages. But it’s often easier said than done. I don’t know a single program that works equally well in both Chinese and Japanese. Anki for example doesn’t recognize tones properly (and neither does Stackz) and Stackz still displays simplified Chinese even after i’ve selected Traditional mode.

Well I’ve made sure problems like this don’t happen when you use Kongzi. Thanks to suggestions I’ve received from the Beta Testers, Kongzi now works equally well with Japanese, Korean, and Chinese. See for yourself:

Kongzi Beta-4 Japanese FontsKongzi Beta-4 Korean Fonts

Now, you can make Kongzi look however you want! What’s your favourite font for Korean, Japanese or Chinese? Kongzi can use it and make you feel at home.

The Font Chooser for Kongzi is incredibly intelligent. It automatically detects any fonts you have installed on your system which support the language you want to use. I’m very proud of it and I hope that it will satisfy user’s expectations well.

On the other hand, after reading Designing a Better Font Selection Widget it seems that what I have actually done is stumbled upon how the Mac has been doing things for years…

Doing things this way is very convenient for me as a programmer too. Auto-detecting your fonts lets me escape from having to distribute and install special fonts with the program. It is much easier to provide links to fonts on the internet than to distribute them in a zip file.

When will it be finished?

There are three important things I want to do with Kongzi before I release it.

1. I want to put in a help system.
I think it’s almost required for a good program to have online help nowadays, as well as in a pdf file or printed manual.

2. I want to create a Sample Dictionary & shortcut file
To help people jump right into learning with Kongzi, I want to provide sample “starter dictionaries” for Chinese and possibly Japanese & Korean as well. Giving users a blank slate wouldn’t be very fair. To this end I’m currently thinking about giving Kongzi the power to import dictionary files like JMdict/EDICT or CC-EDICT. That would solve all my problems in one fell swoop (except for users who want to learn Korean, or anything else not Japanese or Chinese).

3. I want to put in a “Phrase of the Day”
Simple enough to implement. But related to this is improving support for bigrams, phrases, idioms, etc. Right now Kongzi works really well for single character entries. But if you throw bigrams or phrases into the mix, some aspects might break. For example the Memory Game. It won’t work with phrases. Bigrams – maybe. Also, it would be pretty obvious during a multiple choice if long phrases and single characters were mixed. This will take some thinking I suspect.

Realistically the above won’t take me more than a couple of days if I sat down and just did it. I could probably toss in an internalization template during that time, too. But working on this program is starting to drag since it’s almost finished and I like to code rapidly. I spend at least 90% of time playing video games and scheming to corner the stock market. Plus I do have a “real job” outside of moonlight hacking. So when will it be done?

Well I also plan to distribute “Welcome to Chinese”, my MCI Chinese textbook, with the “full” version of the program. I’m also going to design a website to launch this. So all things considered at least a month.

I also have to stop myself from using the program – i’ve begun to spend entirely too much time using it myself instead of working on it. Hehehe 🙂

One Response

  1. EPWING support would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

